Thank You for Making “Fund Her Future” a Success!

Guests experienced a magical evening on Friday, October 17 at Scott’s Restaurant at Jack London Square when the Holy Names High School community came together to recognize and honor Former Interim Principal Sr. Margaret Spiller with the Durocher Award for her leadership and service at Holy Names.

Alumnae and HNHS supporters also met and listened to our new Principal, Dr. Harry Purpur, inspire the audience with his historical perspective of the school. He asked that we read the Mission Statement together to remind us about the unique opportunities Holy Names offers young woman at our single gender school – a place where young women learn about leadership and continue on as leaders in their careers and communities.

Thank you to our very generous table sponsors, our Board of Directors, alumnae, parents, alumnae parents, friends, faculty, and former faculty who attended the dinner and/or made a donation.  We want to extend a very special thank you to our remarkable student speakers, Tatiana Cheong ’17 and Itza Bonilla-Hernandez ’16, who each told their unique story about what it means to be a student at Holy Names. Additionally, we want to acknowledge Takeya Scott ’15 who gave the evening’s Blessing. Thank you to our superbly talented orchestra lead by Director Kirsten Shallenberg, and our spectacular Vocal Ensemble directed by Ms. Debbie de Coudreaux, ’69. A very particular thank you to our wonderful and very generous emcee, Shirley Spiller ’84, Chair of the HNHS Board of Directors, and gratefully recognize TiYanna Long ’08 who gave a stirring speech expressing the importance of this event and asking all present to donate to our financial aid program.  Thank you to Teri Hurlbut ’71, Alumnae Association President who provided the delectable See’s truffles for each guest.

Because of all of you, our 2014 Fund Her Future was a dazzling, inspirational evening celebrating educational excellence that is Holy Names High School.

Event table sponsors & underwriters:

Double Diamond Benefactors
Cornell Maier
Wells Fargo Foundation
Carol & Gary Matthews

Diamond Benefactor
Mechanics Bank

Platinum Patrons
Bank of America
Laura & Paul Bennett
Chevron Corporation
Sisters of the Holy Names of Jesus & Mary
Elizabeth & John Soldavini
Lynne Walter

Gold Champions
The Arbuckle Sisters
Anne Louise Coiston ’84
Cameron Habel
Linda Hoffman & Robert Hasler
Fr. Michael Mitchell
Tiffany Thomas ’98

Event Underwriters
Alexander Valley Vineyards
Teri Martinucci Hurlbut ’71
Kopriva Wine
Emilio & Lenore Freschi Maionchi ’63
Julie Lyons Sanderson ’59
Scott’s Seafood Restaurant
Julie Fleitz Wetzel ’69
Tate Street Winery